Heritage from Quincey
Classified as Historical monument since 1870, the Castle of Quincey has a long and rich history dating from 13th century. The medieval castle was the property of Lord of Quincey, whom fief belong directly to Dukes of Burgundy.
In part ruin under Charles VII, then demolished under Louis XI, it has been rebuilt in 1487 par Lord of Eguilly and Grosbois.
In 17th century, the castle removed after a fire in 1572, became the property of Marquis of Thianges, husband of Gabrielle de Rochechouart, sister of future Marquise of Montespan, Louis XIV’s mistress.
This one had a stay at the castle during a visit to the Parlement of Burgundy. A memorial is present in the chapel.
After the fire of 1707, the castle has been rebuilt on the same foundations by Antoine Cortois, whom son, councillor of Parlement restored the chapel. Since 19th century, manu owners have restored the castle. The parc, in the past a french style parc made by Le Notre, has been transformed into a lanscaped park.
Château de Quincey
15, Grande Rue
21700 - Quincey
Phone: +33 (0)3 80 61 06 33
Fax: +33 (0)3 80 61 06 33